Second HOPE Awards launched | Suffolk Constabulary

You are here

Second HOPE Awards launched


Suffolk Constabulary is today (Thursday 14 October) launching the second Suffolk HOPE awards.

The initial event was launched off the back of National Hate Crime Awareness Week (NHCA) in October last year, and with NHCA currently taking place this week, it is the ideal moment to launch the second HOPE awards.

The aim of the awards is to recognise and celebrate the positive contributions that young people make within the county. 

Secondary schools and education providers for 16 to 18-year olds are being invited to nominate a worthy young person or group who they think have been involved in inspiring projects or activities for themselves and those around them. Nominations are welcome for any young person aged between 11 and 18 years-old, who has gone above and beyond and continued to demonstrate resilience, determination and teamworking during 2021/2022.

The awards are fully supported by the East Anglian Daily Times, Ipswich Star, Bury Free Press, Newmarket Journal, Haverhill Echo, Suffolk Free Press and Suffolk News BBC Radio Suffolk, the Suffolk High Sheriff Office, Suffolk County Council, and Suffolk Community Safety Partnerships.   

The 2021 overall winner was Phoebe Maddever of Finborough School in Stowmarket. She won it for her wellbeing and body confidence programme within the school and was in the category of ‘determination’.

Nominations are now open and will close on Friday 18 February 2022.

The categories are as follows:
Diversity – Individuals or groups who have promoted diversity, taken a stand to prevent/stop discrimination, have undertaken activity to help challenge a negative mindset and affected positive change. 

Respect and Kindness – Kindness is often an underestimated attribute; this category aims to recognise actions (both large and small) which demonstrate compassion and an understanding of another’s struggles.

Teamwork – Teamwork is a skill that is carried forward from school to higher education, work and adulthood. By working as a team, the category aims to acknowledge the benefits of sharing ideas and experiences and finding a common approach to solve an issue.

Determination – This category aims to celebrate and recognise the determination and resilience of our young people and reward their positive attitude to finding solutions or helping each other and their community.

Once the nominations have been submitted, they will all be assessed, and the judging panel will meet in March to choose the winner in each of the four categories and one overall HOPE winner. The awards will be presented i to the successful candidate winners separately in April next year.

For the full criteria and to submit an entry via the online application form, visit:

Alternatively, a form can be requested by emailing [email protected].

Inspector Vicky McParland from Suffolk Constabulary said: “We had a great response from the Suffolk community to the first awards which were instigated in response to how young people responded so positively in the wake of the covid pandemic.

“We are sure there are many more powerful stories that need to be told about the selfless, heart-warming and compassionate work that takes place in our communities thanks to the hard work of our teenagers and we are looking forward to receiving many nominations.”

Cllr Andrew Reid, Chair, Safer Stronger Communities Group said: “It has been a privilege to be involved in the Suffolk Hope Awards. We have seen some truly amazing examples of compassion and respect demonstrated by young people across Suffolk. The Hope Awards are an ideal way to celebrate the positive contributions young people make daily to their communities. I am sure we will be equally impressed by this year’s nominations.”

Suffolk’s Police and Crime Commissioner Tim Passmore said: “Celebrating achievement is important to us all and as a judge last year, it was absolutely heart-warming to hear the stories of those nominated.

“It’s particularly important to celebrate the achievement of young people making a positive difference in our communities and I hope this year will encourage a whole host of new nominations.

“There is so much good work being done by young people right across the county and this often goes unnoticed. The Suffolk HOPE awards are a fantastic opportunity for us to herald some of the outstanding young people we know and admire. 
“I’d encourage everyone to have a look at the criteria and take the opportunity to nominate someone who deserves wider recognition for the difference they are making.”

BBC Radio Suffolk Breakfast Show presenter Mark Murphy said: “We’re so thrilled to be involved again. It’s so lovely to hear such positive things going on in our schools.”

Editor of the East Anglian Daily Times and Ipswich Star Brad Jones said: "I was lucky enough to judge this year's Hope Awards, which were full of positive stories about the great work being done by young people in Suffolk.

"It's important for the media to highlight these, which is why we're so pleased to get behind the awards again next year."

Group Editor of the Bury Free Press, Newmarket Journal, Haverhill Echo, Suffolk Free Press and Suffolk News Barry Peters said: "Young people have been among some of the worst affected by the pandemic. The past 18 months have been so tough for them. I'm therefore delighted to be able to shine a light on  stories of teamwork, determination and plain kindness which are evident in many of the tales which come across my desk every week. Phoebe Maddever's win last year from Finborough School was a cracking effort and one which would be great to be able to replicate for 2022."

A full list of the winners of the first event can be found here>

Further information and frequently asked questions are available here:

Latest news and updates regarding the Suffolk HOPE Awards will be promoted on the constabulary’s social media accounts using the hashtags #NohateinSuffolk #HopeAwardsSuffolk

‘HOPE’ denotes:
Hate crime awareness
Operational response to hate crime
Prevent hate crime
Empower communities affected by hate crime.

Image: Last year’s overall winner Phoebe Maddever with Chief Inspector Wakeling.