Meet your new Locality Inspector

10 March 2016

The new model for policing in Suffolk will be launched on Monday 4th April.  The re-designed model has been agreed as a result of the Suffolk Local Policing Review, and will enable the Constabulary to respond to the changing nature of crime, with resources located according to demand.

The new model will see the county divided into nine localities, each led with an inspector, who will oversee the work of Safer Neighbourhood Teams and emergency response officers within their area. Three Superintendents will oversee this work, being responsible for the East, West and South of the county.

Events have been arranged across the county to allow members of the public, partners and members of the media to meet their new Locality Inspector and to hear about how teams will be working within local communities.  Those attending will also have the opportunity to ask questions and to comment on policing in their area under the new model.

The new Inspectors are:


Mark Shipton (Mildenhall)
Matthew Dee (Bury St Edmunds)
Danny Cooper (Sudbury / Haverhill)
Chris Galley (Stowmarket)


Kevin Horton (South West)
Sarsfield Donohue (Ipswich Central) – Sarsfield will take over in May – Inspector Neil McKay will hold the meeting and be in post until this time.
Roger Salmon (South East)


Nicholas Aitken (Halesworth)
Richard Hill (Lowestoft)

Dates and locations for forthcoming meetings are listed below.  These are public meetings and anyone is welcome to attend:




Thurs 10th March 6:30pm


Chantry Methodist Church, Kingfisher Avenue, Ipswich (as part of the South West Area Committee Meeting)

Inspector Kevin Horton

Weds 16th March 7pm


Nansen Road Baptist Church, Ipswich, IP3 9HN (as part of the South East Ipswich Area Forum)

Inspector Roger Salmon

Thurs 17th March 7.30pm


Hadleigh Town Council, venue The Council Chamber The Guildhall Hadleigh IP7 5DN

Inspector Kevin Horton

Thurs 17th March 7pm


St John’s Church Hall, Cauldwell Hall Road, Ipswich, IP4 4QE (as part of the North East Ipswich Area Forum)

Inspector Roger Salmon

Mon 21st March 6:30pm


School Hall, Cedars Park Primary School, Stowmarket, IP14 5FP

Inspector Chris Galley

Tues 22nd March 7pm


Whitton Baptist Church, 209 Highfield Road, Ipswich (as part of the North West Area Committee)

Inspector Kevin Horton



Samuel Ward School, Haverhill

Inspector Danny Cooper

Weds 23rd March 4pm


Kirkley Centre, 154 London Road South, Lowestoft, NR33 0AZ

Inspector Richard Hill

Thurs 24th March 6:30pm


Shire Hall, Market Hill, Woodbridge, IP12 4LP

Inspector Roger Salmon

Thurs 24th March 7pm


Fenland Room, Mildenhall Jubilee Centre, The Pavillion, Recreation Way, Mildenhall, IP28 7HG

Inspector Mark Shipton

Thurs 24th March 7pm


Clarkson Street Community Church, Ipswich

(as part of the Ipswich Central Area Committee)

Inspector Neil McKay

Tues 29th March 7pm


Assembly Rooms, Sudbury Town Hall, Sudbury

Inspector Danny Cooper

Weds 30th March 6pm


The Rifle Hall, London Road, Halesworth, IP19 8LW

Inspector Nick Aitken

Weds 30th  March 7pm


Moreton hall Community Centre, Symonds Road, Bury St Edmunds, IP32 7EW

Inspector Matt Dee

Thurs 31st March 6:30pm


Town Hall, Undercliffe Road, Felixstowe

Inspector Roger Salmon


Further details on the new local policing model can be found here


Bookmark and Share

Like us on Facebook and join our growing community.